Overview of User Types

Each Workzone user is assigned a unique user account with a specific user type, designed to reflect the role they play in your projects and the level of access they should have in Workzone. Each user has the same user role across all workspaces and projects in Workzone.

  • Associate Users

    Associate users: associates are the creators and organizers of workspaces. Associates have access to more functionality than Reviewer or Partner users. There are three types of Associate users: Administrators, Managers and Contributors.

  • Administrators

    Administrators can create, view and modify all workspaces and all system features. Only Administrators can create Managers, Contributors, or other Administrators. Limit this role to the most trusted users in your organization. Administrators automatically see all workspaces and all workspace content; they cannot be restricted from seeing any information in Workzone. Only an Administrator can delete a workspace.
  • Managers

    This type of user can modify all aspects of the workspaces to which they are assigned, whether or not the Manager was the creator of the item. Additionally, the Manager can create new workspaces, partners, screening rooms, and Reviewer and Partner users. This is the most common role given to individuals who are organizing a workspace, loading documents or managing projects.

    Typically, client service team members and project Managers are assigned this role. An Manager can be restricted from seeing workspaces, folders and documents by an Administrator or another Manager. Managers can update all tasks within Projects for projects that they can access, whether or not they are the responsible party for a task. Managers cannot delete a workspace.

  • Contributors

    This type of user can view and add items to all folders, documents, calendars and projects of the workspaces to which they are assigned, but cannot modify or delete items that they did not create. An Contributor can upload new versions to any document in Documents, whether or not they uploaded the original version.

    An Contributor cannot create new workspaces or users, nor can they view/edit Reviewer or Partner user information.

    In Projects, an Contributor can add a task (but not a project) and can edit tasks to which they are assigned. They can upload an attachment to any project or task to which they have access, whether or not they are responsible.

    Reviewers

    These are team members whose primary need within Workzone is to review documents or projects created by others. These may be users outside your company who log in to see the work you have done for them or those users inside your company to whom you want to give the Reviewer view (for its simplicity).

    Within the standard folders in Documents, Reviewers can view, but not upload or modify documents. Reviewers can only upload documents to the Reviewer Upload folder and can only modify or delete documents that they created in that folder.

    Reviewers can upload events to the calendar (if the calendar has been enabled for Reviewer view under Settings for that workspace), but can only edit events that they created.

    Reviewers may update tasks for which they are the responsible party (if Projects has been enabled for Reviewer view under Settings for that workspace), but cannot create new tasks or modify/update tasks created by or assigned to others. They can upload an attachment to any project or task to which they have access, whether or not they are responsible.

 

Partner Users

Partner users are associated with a specific Partner firm (which is set up separately). In Documents, the primary tool that most Partner users use in Workzone, Partner users can add, modify and delete documents only in the partner section of the specific workspaces to which they have been assigned.

Partner users may view the calendar if permitted, but may not add or edit calendar events.

Partner users can update tasks for which they are the responsible party, but cannot create new tasks or modify/update tasks created by or assigned to others. They can upload an attachment to any project or task to which they have access, whether or not they are responsible.

A more detailed explanation of the Partner role appears later in this user’s guide (click here to access directly).

Was this article helpful?